Lifetime Achievement in Qualitative Inquiry

Lifetime Achievement in Qualitative Inquiry: Call for Nominations

The International Center for Qualitative Inquiry is pleased to announce the call for nominations for the 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award in Qualitative Inquiry. The award is conferred annually to a member of the qualitative and ethnographic community for lifetime contributions to the methods, theory, practice, and dissemination of qualitative inquiry.

The award will be presented at the International Congress of Qualitative Inquiry Conference in May 2015. The recipient will be notified no later than March 26th, 2015 and is strongly encouraged to attend the Congress for the formal presentation of the award.

Nominators should send a letter outlining the nominee’s qualifications for the award—preferably by e-mail—no later than January 15, 2015. Include a curriculum vitae for the nominee, if available. Because a lifetime of achievement does not diminish from one year to the next, those nominated for this award in 2009-2014 will automatically be considered for 2015.  There is no need to resubmit nominations from previous years, though anyone wishing to supplement an existing nomination or write an additional letter of support is encouraged to do so by the deadline.

Recipients in previous years have been:
2009 Norman K. Denzin
2010 Yvonna S. Lincoln
2011 Janice M. Morse
2012 Carolyn S. Ellis
2013 Laurel Richardson
2014 Judith Preissle

Send letters of nomination, supporting information, and a current curriculum vitae of the nominee to

Stacy Holman Jones
Chair of the Lifetime Achievement Award in Qualitative Inquiry Committee

Email: Stacy Holman Jones:

Or if by post to:

Stacy Holman Jones
Department of Communication Studies
California State University, Northridge
18111 Nordhoff Street
Northridge CA 91330-8257 


  • Howard Becker
  • Daniel Bertaux
  • Arthur Bochner
  • Kathy Charmaz
  • Ron Chenail
  • Jean Clandinin
  • Fred Erickson
  • Kim Etherington
  • Robert Gephart
  • Theophilus Gokah
  • Jaber Gubrium
  • Valerie Janesick
  • Patti Lather
  • Patricia Leavy
  • David Maines
  • Mary Katherine O’Connor
  • Deborah Padgett
  • Ron Pelias
  • Jerry Philipsen
  • Naama Sabar
  • Barbara Sharf
  • Robert Stake
  • David Silverman