2017 Qualitative Book Awards: Calls for Nomination

2017 Qualitative Book Award

Call for Nominations

This award is conferred annually to a member of the qualitative and ethnographic community who has published the English-language book that best represents an important contribution to qualitative inquiry. Eligible books should not be edited books or anthologies. They should be single or co-authored. They will use and advance qualitative methods to investigate any topic or aspect of qualitative inquiry and may involve research reports, interpretations, and analyses. Please note that material intended to serve as textbooks rarely meets the criteria outlined here.

Applications for the award will be judged by criteria that signify a major contribution to the study and practice of qualitative approaches. Such criteria may include success in experimenting with new or traditional writing forms, inclusion of critical reflections on the writing and research process, contributions to living meaningful lives, and insights into creating a socially just world. The award will be presented at the annual meeting of the International Congress of Qualitative Inquiry in May 2017.

To be eligible for the 2017 award, the book must be published between 1st January 2015 and 31st December 2016. Nominators are expected to arrange for copies of the book to be mailed to and received by each member of the three-judge panel.

Nominations should be sent, no later than 14 November, 2016, to Kathryn Roulston, chair of the committee, at roulston@uga.edu

Nominators must arrange for hard copies of the book to be mailed to and received by each member of the three-judge panel by December 1st, 2016.

Addresses are as follows:

Kathryn Roulston
Department of Lifelong Education, Administration and Policy
College of Education
University of Georgia
308 Rivers Crossing
Athens, GA30602, USA

Pat Sikes
University of Sheffield
School of Education
388 Glossop Road
S10 2 JA UK

Ronald Pelias
109 Gentry Circle
Lafayette, LA 70508