2021 Congress Award Winners

2021 Illinois Distinguished Qualitative Dissertation Award

Traditional category:
Burruel Stone, Theresa Amalia, Emplacing White Possessive Logics: Socializing Latinx Youth into Relations with Land, Community, and Success

Honorable mention:
Piotrowski, Marcelina, Subjectivity in the folds : education, media practices, and environmental activism amongst more-than-human pleats

Experimental category:
Beavan, Katie, (Re)Writing Women in Organization: Portraits of Afflictions, Tales of Resistances, Hopes for Living Differently

Honorable mention:
Thomson, Jody, The toll of death and the liveliness of matter: Diffracting stories through the apparatus of art making

2021 Outstanding Qualitative Book Award

Edwards, E. B., & Esposito, J. (2020). Intersectional analysis as a method to analyze popular culture: Clarity in the matrix. Routledge.

Honorable mention:

Faulkner, S. L. (2020). Poetic inquiry: Craft, method and practice (2nd ed.). Routledge.

2021 Lifetime Achievement Award in Qualitative Inquiry for dedication and contributions to qualitative research, teaching, and practice

John M. Johnson

2021 Outstanding Indigenous Scholar/Researcher Award

Early Career: Jillian Fish, Lana Ray, Jennifer Markides

2021 Outstanding Indigenous Graduate Student Scholar Award

Doctoral Graduate Student Award: Danielle Bird