Lifetime Achievement Award

Call for Nominations

The International Center for Qualitative Inquiry is pleased to announce the call for nominations for the 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award in Qualitative Inquiry. The award is conferred annually to a member of the qualitative and ethnographic community for lifetime contributions to the methods, theory, practice, and dissemination of qualitative inquiry.

The award will be presented at the International Congress of Qualitative Inquiry Conference in May 2020. The recipient will be notified no later than March 26th, 2020 and is strongly encouraged to attend the Congress for the formal presentation of the award.

Nominators should send a letter outlining the nominee’s qualifications for the award—preferably by e-mail—no later than January 15. Include a curriculum vitae for the nominee, if available. Because a lifetime of achievement does not diminish from one year to the next, those nominated for this award in 2010-2019 will automatically be considered for 2020. A list of the people already under consideration is available below.  There is no need to resubmit nominations from previous years, though anyone wishing to supplement an existing nomination or write an additional letter of support is encouraged to do so by the deadline.

Recipients in previous years have been:

2009 Norman K. Denzin

2010 Yvonna S. Lincoln

2011 Janice M. Morse

2012 Carolyn S. Ellis

2013 Laurel Richardson

2014 Judith Preissle

2015 Patricia Lather

2016 Arthur P. Bochner

2017 Ron Pelias

2018 Kathy Charmaz

2019 Uwe Flick


Send letters of nomination, supporting information, and a current curriculum vitae of the nominee to Stacy Holman Jones, Chair of the Lifetime Achievement Award in Qualitative Inquiry Committee via email at:



Daniel Bertaux

Ron Chenail

Jean Clandinin

Fred Erickson

Kim Etherington

Robert Gephart

Theophilus Gokah

Jaber Gubrium

Valerie Janesick

Joe Kinchloe

Patricia Leavy

David Maines

Mary Katherine O’Connor

Deborah Padgett

Bert Pelto

Jerry Philipsen

Naama Sabar

Johnny Saldaña

Barbara Sharf

Robert Stake

David Silverman